trimming/truncation of ITS sequences

Hi!

Thanks @RCM for starting this thread and thanks @ebolyen for answering.

I'm new to QIIME2 as well and I'm trying to figure out the correct parameters, so I have a question about trim and trunc as well. When I'm using Illumina tagged primers (as following):

Forward overhang: 5’ TCGTCGGCAGCGTCAGATGTGTATAAGAGACAG‐[locus specific
sequence]

Do I trim only the tag or should I cut the whole primer (including locus specific sequence?)

And one question about the trunc-len:
How much can I truncate? (considering I have reads 2x300 as well, and considering that my reads are good quality as well at least till +-280) for 16S, ITS and COI?

And,
should I cut primers when processing ITS sequences if I want to UNITE to assign taxonomy? (I found somewhere on GitHub or somewhere here on forum - sorry, I cannot find it again - that UNITE classifier will not benefit from cutting the primers... not sure what to think about that).
Or maybe to use ITS-extractor?

So many options... :sunglasses:

Thanks!!

You want to trim all of that before denoising. You do not want PCR primers present in your reads during denoising or OTU clustering.

So if you are using dada2 or deblur, trim-left the full length.

If you are using qiime cutadapt trim-* you can trim using the full sequence (as long as there are no sample-specific barcodes in the middle) or use the DNA-binding section of the PCR primer, since cutadapt will trim away everything to the 5’ end of the front adapter and 3’ end of the adapter adapter. (I would advise using q2-cutadapt particularly for your ITS sequences, so that you can also trim the reverse primer out of your reads; search for read-through ITS issues on this forum to see more discussion)