Standard method to merge Taxonomy and Feature/ASV data

Hi all,

I'm new to QIIME (1 or 2) for metabarcoding data analysis (I've used OBITools before). Currently I'm working on the Moving Pictures tutorial and my own sequencing data in QIIME2.

How can one easily combine the output from a taxonomy analysis and the ASV/feature table? As an output, I'd like to have a table where each row is a Feature/ASV and the columns are taxonomy, the sample IDs etc. The values are the number of reads/Frequency for each of that ASV in the corresponding sample:

ASV     Kingdom     Phylum   ...   species    Sample 1    Sample 2    
1       Bacteria    x              A          3000        5543
2       Eukaryota   x              B          5467        5478
3       Bacteria    x              C          2234        1376

The format does not need to be exactly like this, but it is important that all the taxonomy is shown (preferably a separate column for each taxonomic level) and that the number of reads per sample for that taxon are shown.

I'll take the moving picture tutorial as an example:

Using qiime dada2 denoise-single you obtain a FeatureTable --> table.qza
Using qiime feature-classifier classify-sklearn you obtain Taxonomy data --> taxonomy.qza

The following command is run to combine both files and visualize them:

qiime taxa barplot \
  --i-table table.qza \
  --i-taxonomy taxonomy.qza \
  --m-metadata-file sample-metadata.tsv \
  --o-visualization taxa-bar-plots.qzv

However, this is just a visualization (barplot) and does not create a new artifact where both are combined.

I've also found the following code on here the forum:

#transpose feature table, so samples are in the columns
qiime feature-table transpose \
--i-table table.qza \
--o-transposed-feature-table \
table-transposed.qza

qiime metadata tabulate \
--m-input-file table_transposed.qza \
--m-input-file taxonomy.qza \
--o-visualization merged.qzv