Re-classify sequences from gg to silva using .qza file

Hello,

This is my first time working with 16S samples and qiime2 data artifacts. I have QIIME2 data artifacts that were provided to me for downstream statistical analysis (including taxonomy.qza and featuretable.qza). I’d like to change the taxonomic classification method of my ASVs from GreenGenes to Silva. Is this something I do with my qza files? Otherwise, I have fastq files (four per sample, I1, I2, R1, R2) but I have not previously worked with this type of data and would not know where to begin with re-classification.

In reviewing the q2-feature-classifier tutorial, it looks like I need: i) a reference taxonomy file, ii) my sequences. Can I extract my sequences from the taxonomy.qza file? (I think they are somewhere in the taxonomy.qza file based on looking at the Provenance Graph but perhaps I am misunderstanding).

Any other information would help. Thanks very much.

Hi @basil0125,

Welcome to the :qiime2: forum!

There are a couple of ways to tackle re-classification, but it's non-trivial. Did you get an artifact that's a semantic type FeatureData[Sequence] or a representative set? It would be an output of denoising. If not, i would contact the person who generated your data because they're the basis of several downstream analyses. (If they can't provide this file, I would ask them to reprocess the data and provide it to you!)

If you can't get that file, you might still be able to get the sequences if the feature ids in the table or taxonomy are sequences. (If they're hashed, you're out of luck). In that case, you need to make a fasta file with the sequence name and sequence (the sequence twice). If my ids are WANTCAT and CATCATCAT, my file would look like this:

> WANTCAT
WANTCAT
> CATCATCAT
CATCATCAT

Alternatively, you can reprocess the data yourself. I'd start with the PD Mice tutorial.

Best,
Justine

Hello Justine,