Problems of importing data

Hi,I am new to qiime2 and I want to import my faetq data using a manifest like this,

then I keep getting this error,

but my fastq data is actually in that file,

so I am so confused,and I really hope you can help me about this.
Thank you so much!

Hi @Mengyuan,
Not sure if this is the problem, but worth a quick check. If you are using the virtual machine image (which it looks like you are) the files you are looking for are actually just in "/media/sf_Treatment/16S_treatment/Water/Contigs/"
So, you don’t need the /home/qiime2/ bit before your path. At least that’s how it appears in my VM environment.
You can check the validity of your addresses by something simple like
ls "/media/sf_Treatment/16S_treatment/Water/Contigs/"
If you see your folder content then that’s the right path!

1 Like

@Mehrbod_Estaki ,Thanks for your help! I have checked that the path"/media/sf_Treatment/16S_treatment/Water/Contigs/"
is right ,and in my command ,the input path is also the right one like this

but in the error message, I do not know why it is changed into /home/qiime2/media......
should I change my shared file's path or change the setting of this software?

Hi @Mengyuan - I suspect you aren’t using absolute file paths in your manifest — do the entries all begin with a / character? If not, then the shell will automatically prepend your current working directory, which is why the import is adding on /home/qiime2 to the beginning of the path while trying to import. Add those / characters and you should be good to go! If you are still experiencing problems, please provide a sample of your manifest file here so that we can help diagnose the issue. Thanks! :t_rex:

1 Like

Thank you @thermokarst ! But I think I had added / character at all paths in manifest. Here is my manifest file:manifest.txt (14.8 KB)
Is it right?:panda_face: