Plugin to Generate Feature Log Ratios By Textual Searching à la Qurro

Hi, all.

I’m fairly new to Qiime dev and right now I’m interested in writing/modifying a plugin to generate log ratios given numerator and denominator strings without having to run Qurro. Ideally, usage would look something like this:

qiime2 plugin-name log-ratio \
    --i-table feature_table.qza \
    --m-sample-metadata-file samples_to_use.tsv \
    --m-feature-metadata-file taxonomy.qza \
    --m-numerator-string o__Fusobacteriales \
    --m-denominator-string o__Pseudomonadales \
    --o-output-path Fuso_Pseudo_log_ratios.qza

where the output would look something like this:

Sample-ID       Log-Ratio
Sample1             1.543
Sample2            -2.337
Sample3             0.048

With a value listed for each sample as \ln(\sum \text{numerator features count}) - \ln(\sum \text{denominator features count})

I want to be able to generate these log-ratios programatically and without having to click “Export sample data” in Qurro to save the data for further visualization/analysis.

I already have the code to do this without Qiime, but I think it could be a useful plugin to others. So my question is, should this be its own plugin or perhaps folded into q2-feature-table or another plugin? Additionally, would this functionality require a new semantic type to be defined? My understanding is that Qiime does not (at the moment) support outputting metadata files.

Best,
Gibs

1 Like

For reference: we’re planning on rolling this into Qurro as a separate method (distinct from the visualizers). Along with allowing the computation of log-ratios without making the user use the interactive visualization, this would have the advantage of facilitating these computations in a way that gets around max number sizes in JavaScript, as discussed in this issue and in this forum post.

Sounds like this is going in qurro, and I think that would be a most appropriate home for this method :smile: