Pairwise-differences test returns weird value

Dear Qiime2 developers,

My name is Quynh Anh, you can call me Allie. I am a newbie to QIIME2 and I am running through the FMT tutorial, trying to do the longitudinal test. I have filtered the donor samples from the feature table before running diversity analyses (sampling depth = 152).

To answer question 1d: Do richness, evenness, composition, and UniFrac distance change in individuals between baseline and the end of the study? Does this differ between individuals receiving FMT and control subjects?

I remove the donor samples from the original sample metadata file then performance pairwise differences test with the following code:

qiime longitudinal pairwise-differences \

--m-metadata-file sample-metadata-213.tsv
--m-metadata-file core-metrics-results/faith_pd_vector.qza
--p-metric faith_pd
--p-group-column treatment-group
--p-state-column week
--p-state-1 0
--p-state-2 18
--p-individual-id-column subject-id
--p-replicate-handling random
--o-visualization pairwise-differences.qzv

The test returns this file:pairwise-differences-faith-pd.qzv (284.1 KB)
with W = 0 for the control group. Also, the number of samples is very small, so I feel confused.

I also tried to run the pairwise-distance test on Bray-Curtis and unweighted UniFrac distance. The test also returns Mann-Whitney U value of zero and the number of samples tested even smaller.
Bray-Curtis: pairwise-distances-bray-curtis.qzv (276.5 KB)
Unweighted UniFrac: pairwise-distances-unweighted-unifrac.qzv (277.9 KB)

I would be grateful if you could help me with this!
Thank you,
Allie.

Hello @AllieNguyen,

Welcome! you came to the right place. :smile:

The small sample size explains the low W and confusing results. Are you using the 1% or 10% subsample? Using the 10% should retain a few more samples and the results should be at least a bit more sensible.

A few things to consider: