Newbie Question: How to set up Cyberducky with QIIME2 in AWS

Hi there! I'm new to using QIIME2 and I am trying to run my analyses in the cloud.

I installed qiime2 via EC2 AWS following the official qiime2 website instructions (Installing QIIME 2 using Amazon Web Services — QIIME 2 2018.6.0 documentation). I don't know how to use command line, so I was hoping to use Cyberducky to get files into and out of my instance.

I just can't seem to connect via SFTP. This is what I've tried inputting into the various fields:
Server: Public DNS or Public IP
Username: ubuntu, ec2-user, AWS account username
Password: qiime2
I've been selecting "None" for SSH Private Key because there was no key created from setting up this instance
I haven't put anything in under "More Options"

If anyone could help me troubleshoot here, I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

Hey there @jnie93!

I haven't tested this, but it should work, since this works over SSH. Anyway, the usernames you listed above - none of those are the username that the images ship with by default: qiime2 (this is specified in the doc you linked to above). Have you tried that, with the password qiime2 (don't forget to change that password).

:+1:

Keep us posted!

1 Like

This worked perfectly!!! Thank you!!

1 Like

Thanks for the help earlier! I have another newbie question....

I've been able to connect via SFTP, but every time I try to upload a file, it will stop before fully finishing. Below is a screenshot of my attempts to upload to /home/qiime2 and to a directory I made (qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial). It stopped at 205 Mb in /home/qiime2 and won't even continue in the directory I made.

Am I uploading to the wrong place? Or is there a setting I need to change? I'm thinking it may be a storage issue, but I'm using m1.large on AWS, so I should have plenty of storage. I've tried in both Cyberducky and Firezilla, but I'm getting the same issue.