Merging paired end sequences after importing fastq manifest data

Hello,

I am very new to Qiime2 and I successfully imported my sequence data via paired-end fastqmanifestphred33 format. I think I am getting confused on the step to take after this importing step. I was able to run through the moving pictures tutorial with the sample data however applying my own data to those commands is tripping me up. The sequences are already demultiplexed so I tried skipping over that step in the tutorial to generate a feature table but found that to not work. I then tried running the demultiplexing step anyway for paired-end sequences in the Atacama soil tutorial and the error below popped up. This is leading me to think that my sequences were merged incorrectly into qiime2 so I am a little lost on what step to take.

Sorry for the long question, I just need a very basic answer on if my import worked and then the next step to take after I received a paired-end-demux.qza output

Plugin error from demux:

** Argument to input ‘seqs’ is not a subtype of EMPPairedEndSequences.**

Debug info has been saved to /var/folders/m6/kby0dlrd3cz8gsrdfqchxg680000gn/T/qiime2-q2cli-err-vpa94vfb.log.

Thank you so much for any help!

Hi @twhitney, can you provide the following things to help us with your request:

• The exact command you used to import your data
  • A sample of your manifest file (just the first 5 lines or so)

Can you provide some more detail here about how it didn't work? What commands did you run? What errors did you see? Please attach any relevant error logs that QIIME 2 produces.

I think this makes sense --- if the data was already demultiplexed, attempting to demultiplex it again isn't going to work!

Thanks! :sunny:

The command for importing was the one below and it ran through with no errors.