Merging closed OTU and denovo OTU

Hello,

I’m new to metagenomic analysis and I’m conducting an analysis on crohns and healthy patients both of which have only fasta files for each sample.

I conducted by analysis up until denovo clustering and I hit a roadblock after realizing that the primers mentioned in fasta files for crohns is v1-v2 and for healthy patients is v1-v3. I read up on otu picking and it is recommended to use denovo for overlapping regions in my case v1-v2 for denovo clustering and v1-v3 it would be closed otu picking.

my question, I’m sorry if it is too basic, but is it okay to combine these tables and seqs to move on to chimera and abundance filtering?

Thanks!

Hi @mallika,

This is a little bit challenging! First, I would check your read length/read overlap and make sure you used the same forward primer, at the very least. You’ll still get some primer bias between case sand control, which is good to keep in mind.

You cannot mix and match OTU picking methods between the two datasets. The de novo/closed ref combination will have mixed feature IDs and since everything downstream runs off feature IDs, it will be a problem. I would trim both groups to the same length and then either cluster de novo or closed reference. (I liked closed ref, but lots of people prefer other techniques.)

Best,
Justine

1 Like

Thank you. I have used closed OTU clustering method on crohns and healthy patients separately and later on merged them as they are of different primers.

I do have another question though - For the taxonomic analysis, I do not have primer sequences to run extract reads command to train the data of otu_97. How can I proceed further?

Hi @mallika,

You do not need to run taxonomic analysis on closed reference clustering. You can just import the database taxonomy and those are your assignments.

Best,
Justine

Hello again.