making a taxa-bar-plots.qzv after removing contaminants

Hello everyone,

I am new to QIIME2 so I apologize up front for a rudimentary question.

I would like to make a taxa-bar-plots.qzv from my dataset, AFTER all contaminant samples are removed. I removed all taxa from my contaminant sample (Quiagenkit) from my experimental samples in my ASV_taxo.tsv file; and then I removed the Quiagenkit sample completely from my map.

Here is the code I ran to produce the taxa-bar-plots.qzv:
--i-table DOC-table.qza
--i-taxonomy DOC-taxonomy.qza
--m-metadata-file DOC_map_contaminants_removed.tsv
--o-visualization taxa-bar-plots.qzv

Here is the error message it produced:
Plugin error from taxa:
Sample IDs found in the table are missing in the metadata: {'Qiagenkit'}.
Debug info has been saved to /var/folders/bg/x61stg5n6qqf7n16x12q0jjr0000gn/T/qiime2-q2cli-err-hbdvl6xt.log

When I repeated the code with my original map (including contaminants) it worked:
--i-table DOC-table.qza
--i-taxonomy DOC-taxonomy.qza
--m-metadata-file DOC_map.tsv
--o-visualization taxa-bar-plots.qzv

But again, I would like the bar plot to exclude my contaminants. How might I go about doing that?

Thanks so much,
Aurora

DOC_map_contaminants_removed.tsv (2.0 KB)

DOC_map.tsv (3.7 KB)

DOC_ASV_taxo_contaminants_removed.tsv (181.4 KB)

Hey Aurora,

This makes sense, because

and now you also need to remove it from your DOC-table.qza. Once the sample is removed from both your mapping file and your feature table, this should work fine. Try qiime feature-table filter-samples, and let us know how you...

Oh no! Wait! :triangular_flag_on_post:

Uh... you may have read about this in other posts, but this might cause big problems :scream_cat:

Don't let me tell you how to filter your table! I just wanted to mention it because I know reviewer three is going to have opinions about filtering negative controls :upside_down_face:

wait what?