Jupyter lab/notebook in Qiime 2 (v. 2021.4)

This is likely a stupid question, but I have spent hours now trolling the forum and the web for answers and nothing seems to work for me.

I am VERY new to coding and trying to figure out how to use jupyter notebooks in conjunction with Qiime2.

I have natively installed Qiime2 (v. 2021.4) on my mac via conda.

In terminal, I am running the following:

" (base) shannonwilson@shannons-mbp ~ % conda activate qiime2-2021.4
(qiime2-2021.4) shannonwilson@shannons-mbp ~ % cd Desktop/qiime_files
(qiime2-2021.4) shannonwilson@shannons-mbp qiime_files % jupyter notebook
[I 09:55:17.816 NotebookApp] Serving notebooks from local directory: /Users/shannonwilson/Desktop/qiime_files
[I 09:55:17.816 NotebookApp] Jupyter Notebook 6.3.0 is running at:
[I 09:55:17.817 NotebookApp] http://localhost:8888/?token=3917a6c50b78741ee9d61792cffb2872307ec9a6679853dc
[I 09:55:17.817 NotebookApp] or http://127.0.0.1:8888/?token=3917a6c50b78741ee9d61792cffb2872307ec9a6679853dc
[I 09:55:17.817 NotebookApp] Use Control-C to stop this server and shut down all kernels (twice to skip confirmation).
[C 09:55:17.824 NotebookApp]

To access the notebook, open this file in a browser:
    file:///Users/shannonwilson/Library/Jupyter/runtime/nbserver-5571-open.html
Or copy and paste one of these URLs:
    http://localhost:8888/?token=3917a6c50b78741ee9d61792cffb2872307ec9a6679853dc
 or http://127.0.0.1:8888/?token=3917a6c50b78741ee9d61792cffb2872307ec9a6679853dc "

I run the command "Import qiime2" and there is no response to the code in the notebook. I however tried to proceed.

I am then trying to run the "moving pictures" tutorial in the jupyter notebook browser. However, I get the following when I try to make a directory for it (e.g. mkdir qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial
cd qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial)

I received the error:
"File "", line 1
mkdir qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax"