Inquiry about Demultiplexed sequence counts summary

Hello everyone.
I am a university student who has started to do research on intestinal microbiome.
I am analyzing 16 fecal samples, and I have created a manifest file and then got a qzv file using the following command, but when I look at the resulting qzv file, forward and reverse appear respectively.

manifest file
sample-id absolute-filepath direction
S1 /Users/inukaiyousuke/Desktop/qiime2/ngs1/1730_S22_L001_R1_001.fastq.gz forward
S1 /Users/inukaiyousuke/Desktop/qiime2/ngs1/1730_S22_L001_R2_001.fastq.gz reverse
S2 /Users/inukaiyousuke/Desktop/qiime2/ngs1/1828_S23_L001_R1_001.fastq.gz forward
S2/ Users/inukaiyousuke/Desktop/qiime2/ngs1/1828_S23_L001_R2_001.fastq.gz reverse

command
①qiime tools import --type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]' --input-path atemanifest1.csv --output-path paired-end-demux-ate1.qza --input-format PairedEndFastqManifestPhred33

②qiime demux summarize --i-data paired-end-demux-ate1.qza --o-visualization ate1.qzv

When I analyzed another sample with the same command before, forward and reverse were not separated.
Are forwad and reverse not merged?
I was hoping you could give me a solution.

Welcome to the forum, @yokmok !

Q2-demux doesn't join paired-end reads. You can do that during denoising with DADA2 (example), or you can do your own qc and join them with q2-vsearch.

You can use the 'Provenance' tab of your prior visualization to see what your commands were, and deduce why you don't have forward and reverse reads there.

Best,
Chris :bird:

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply.

As I mentioned above, when I used another samples in same command before, it was not necessary to join paired-end reads. Do you know why this is?
Sample files and manifest files look same, like
S1 /Users/inukaiyousuke/Desktop/qiime2/ngs1/1730_S22_L001_R1_001.fastq.gz forward
S1 /Users/inukaiyousuke/Desktop/qiime2/ngs1/1730_S22_L001_R2_001.fastq.gz reverse