Importing From Local files

Hello, I am extremely new to bioinformatics and Qiime2. I followed the tutorials for installing ubuntu and conda then qiime2. I checked that I could run commands then followed the moving picture tutorial. Following that, I started on my own data which is on my local drive. I had some errors occur such as:
(1/1) Invalid value for '--input-path': Path 'MiseqTickRunsSample_Run' does
not exist.
I found some support in another post on the forum but the solution there did not help me. I tried this command:
(qiime2-2021.11) austin@DESKTOP-6GHAE6A:~$ qiime tools import \

--type type EMPPairedEndSequences
--input-path MiseqTickRuns/Sample_Run
--output-path MiseqTickRuns/Sample_Run
and got:
(1/2) Invalid value for '--input-path': Path 'MiseqTickRuns/Sample_Run' does
not exist.
(2/2) Got unexpected extra argument (EMPPairedEndSequences).

I then attempted:
(qiime2-2021.11) austin@DESKTOP-6GHAE6A:~$ qiime tools import \

--type type EMPPairedEndSequences
--input-path C/Users/Austin Brown/Desktop/MiseqTickRuns
--output-path C/Users/Austin Brown/Desktop/MiseqTickRuns
and got:
(1/2) Invalid value for '--input-path': Path 'C/Users/Austin' does not exist.
(2/2) Got unexpected extra arguments (EMPPairedEndSequences
Brown/Desktop/MiseqTickRuns Brown/Desktop/MiseqTickRuns)

My question is: Have I messed up my directories somewhere or is the fact that my C/Users/Austin Brown has a space causing the issues?

Hi @Waldo,

Welcome to the :qiime2: forum!

I'm seeing about 4 possible problems with your command that might explain the issue.

First, can you confirm the system you're running on. Your paths look like microsoft paths (C://Austin would be a windows path; a linux/osx path might look like /Users/Austin/Desktop)

Second, please double check the format of the command, you're getting a second error (I usually find it easiest ot reference to the import tutorial for this

(2/2) Got unexpected extra argument (EMPPairedEndSequences).