Importing FASTA file

I am just getting started so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I am trying to import data that is in fasta file format with no line breaks.

For example

S034NL_917TGGGGAATTTAGG>S034TL_42718
TGGGGAA

I used this code listed on the QIIME2 tutorial for unaligned sequence data saved into FASTA files:

qiime tools import
--input-path sequences.fna
--output-path sequences.qza
--type 'FeatureData[Sequence]'

but I get an error code stating that it is not in DNAFASTA format file. is that because it is a text file formatted in one line with no line breaks? If I add line breaks can I import using this format?

Thank you for your help!
Samara

1 Like

Hi @sbrifkin27!

Everyone has to start somewhere!

Yes and yes. How did you end up with a FASTA file without line-breaks? I've never seen such a thing!

Otherwise, your command looks good, so as soon as you format it more like this:

>S034NL_917
TGGGGAATTTAGG
>S034TL_42718
TGGGGAA

You'll be all set.

1 Like

Thanks so much for help! I was able to upload the data after I fixed the format of the fasta file. Sorry to bombard you with questions, but I am now trying to demultiplex the data now with the following command:

qiime demux emp-single --i-seqs sequences.qza --m-barcodes-file sample-metadata --m-barcodes-column PatientID --o-per-sample-sequences demux.gza

but I keep getting the following error prompt:
Plugin error from demux:

Argument to parameter ‘seqs’ is not a subtype of EMPPairedEndSequences | EMPSingleEndSequences | RawSequences.

Is that because the data has already been demultiplexed and I should skip the demultiplexing process?

Thank you so much for your help!
Samara

Hi @sbrifkin27,

Sorry for the delayed response.