Importing Data into QIIME2

Hi,

I am new to the QIIME2 program and at the step of importing data in the form of Casava 1.8 single-end demultiplexed fastq. I am using these commands:
qiime tools import
–type ‘SampleData[SequencesWithQuality]’
–input-path casava-18-single-end-demultiplexed
–input-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt
–output-path demux-single-end.qza

I have tried the example data provided as well but I would always receive this error:
(1/1) Invalid value for ‘–input-path’: Path ‘cassava-18-single-end-demultiplexed’ does not exist.

Does anyone know how to troubleshoot this? Thanks.

Welcome to the forum!
It's looks like you are providing a wrong path to the folder, containing sequences you want to import.

Just replace ‘cassava-18-single-end-demultiplexed’ with the path or name of directory in which you store sequences.
Hope this helps.
Best

Thanks for getting back to me. I am currently using the example data given under the importing data tab in QIIME2. So shouldn’t the path or name of directory be ‘cassava-18-single-end-demultiplexed’ as well? I’m still quite confused about this.

Hi @Jan
Could you provide a screen of ls command in your working directory? It may help to resolve the issue.

I've tried using the example data and it works fine. So I tried using my own data this time round and received these error. Not quite sure what went wrong. Could you help me with this? Thanks.

Screen Shot 2021-04-15 at 9.28.09 am

Screen Shot 2021-04-15 at 9.33.38 am

Screen Shot 2021-04-15 at 11.25.59 am

Hi @Jan :wave:
Thank you for providing screenshots.
As I can see, you indicated a folder with fastq files as an input, and provided a SingleEndFastqManifestPhred33V2 at the same time. So, the plugin is expecting a manifest file, which should contain paths to fastq files.
Could you try to replace SingleEndFastqManifestPhred33V2 with CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt in your command?

qiime tools import \