Illumina data in DADA2: sequencing errors

Hello - I'd appreciate help from anyone who has done a similar project!

My Illumina data is underclustered, according to the sequencing facility. PF values were very low, and I'm still trying to understand the reference sequence data.

In the rep-seqs.qvz, everything was filtered out except two reads, both E. coli.

This obviously could be an issue with my products, but the technician who runs the sequencing facility told me after the fact that she doesn't trust the primers I used, even though they are the EMP standard universal primers (based, of course, on E. coli originally).

She experimented with my sample by underloading the amount, resulting in very low PF values, despite a QC run. I need to convince her to re-do this, somehow (I'm doing a master's and all the grant money went into this!)

In any case, I feel that I don't have a grasp of what the ref-seqs mean for my data. My left/right trip parameters were 13, and the p-trunc were 250

Thanks in advance for any ideas!

1 Like

Just for you to have an idea, that is a QS plot from some samples I have (with no QC filtering). It is not that good and not that bad =) but for the Forward reads the quality is way better than the RW reads, as it often is for 16S PE Illumina sequencing.

That is indeed a low quality run in terms of Reads Passing filter, density’s standard deviation and QC/base.
(Assuming they are 16S reads) I would filter them considering an average quality/read (instead of per base) for the RW and FW. Next, I would merge them and get this output. Probably not so many reads… Them, import them on QIIME2 and pick the sequence variants with posterior taxonomic classification. But I don’t think you are retrieving many reads, based on the QS graphs you’ve posted.
Cheers

1 Like

Hi @Cybele_C,