I got an error importing my fastq files

Dear Experts

I am trying to import my fastq files generated using Miseq Illumina. My samples are demultiplexed and they are single end reads. I used this command:

qiime tools import
--type 'SampleData[SequencesWithQuality]'
--input-path manifest.txt
--output-path single-end-demux.qza
--input-format SingleEndFastqManifestPhred33V2

But I got this error:

This is my manifest file:

Sorry I am new in qiime so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi @ptalebic,
The issue seems to be in the delimiters of your manifest file. Looks like they were made as a comma-separated values file (.csv) thus the commas appearing in your table, but you need your manifest file to be in tab-separated values format. Retry remaking your manifest file as a true .tsv and then you should be good to go.

2 Likes

Dear Mehrbod,

Thank you so much. I created a tab-separated values file and it worked.

Best,
Pasha

1 Like

Dear friends at Qiime2,

I am trying to import my paired end fastq files generated by a core facility (I am unsure of the format-Phred33 or Phred64).

Here are the first few lines of one of my fastq files:

@FCCHHFV:1:1101:8606:1291#TTC_TTGGAGGA_AGGCTTGT/1
GTGCAGCCGCCGCGGTAATACGTAGGTCCCGAGCGTTGTCCGGATTTATTGGGCGTAAAGCGAGCGCAGGTGGTTTCTTAAGTCTGATGTAAAAGGCAGTGGCTCAACCATTGTGTGCATTGGAAACTGGGAGACTTGAGTGCAGGAGAGGAGAGTGGAATTCCATGTGTAGCGGTGAAATGCGTAGATATATGGAGGAACACCGGTGGCGAAAGCGGCTCTCTGGCCTGTAACTGACACTGAGGCTCGAAAGCGTGGGGAGCAAACAGGATTAGATACCCTGGTAGTCCACGCCGT
+
CCGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGCGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGFGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGFGGGGGGGCFGGGGGGGGGGGGGFGGGGGGGGGCCGGGGGGGGGFFFFGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGFF,DCGCDGGFGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGDGCEGGDGGFGGFFCDGGFG:FGFGFGDFF=<FF??<BFFFFFFBF04<>?GFFF?>F5???BFF:?A?<<B<AFFFFFF<AAFF9?:9BF1
@FCCHHFV:1:1101:10196:1301#TTC_TTGGAGGA_AGGCTTGT/1

I made a tab delimited text manifest file for the seqs I want to import and used this command:

qiime tools import