How to join sequences from different libraries sequenced in miseq

Hi, I am really new in Qiime2

I have the sequences of 5 libraries in which I use the same 7 primers 515F and 806R for microbiome, but use different Linker primer for each library, my question is how should I generate my map? and how can I join all the sequences of these libraries to analyze them together?

Hi @Ariadna,
Welcome to the :qiime2: community!

Your protocol is a little bit confusing to me.

Are these 5 samples? Or 5 libraries containing many samples in each? What sequencing platform are you using? Illumina or something else?

515F/806R are the primer — do you mean a different linker for each? (these are usually 2 bp long so not very informative). I assume what you really mean here is a different barcode/index. Could you please clarify?

Check out some of the sample metadata files in the tutorials, e.g., here. You will want to structure your file in the same way. Though you do not need the same columns. See here for info on formatting and using sample metadata.

You will probably want to import as a manifest format, assuming that your sequences are already demultiplexed. You can then proceed, e.g., following this tutorial (start after the demultiplexing step, e.g., here).

I hope that helps!

1 Like

Hi thank you very much for your time :slight_smile:

These libraries contain many samples in each one, for the sequencing use Illumina, what I wanted to say by linker primer was the index, each library has a different barcode index.

Try to make the map as indicated in the tutorials, validate it in Kemmeii and everything seemed to go well. But when I tried to demultiplex my sequences on qiime2, the program indicated that a barcode was twice on my map. This is of course true since I have 5 libraries with around 5 to 7 samples each with the same primers 515F and 806R, but the index is different for each of the libraries.

my sequences are as shown in the image: