How to import data from miseq paired end reads 2 x 251

Hello Everyone,
I’m new to qiime and bioinformatics, trying my best to learn qiime. I wanted to import my illumina raw data using the EMP paired end sequences tutorial. I have a problem, I was only provided with a .txt barcode file. What do I do now if my barcode is in txt format?
I’m looking forward to your reply.
Thank you very much!

Hi @Pseudomonas84,

Welcome! You came to the right place. :smile:

How many lines does this file have? It sounds like your "barcode file" may actually be the list of barcodes corresponding to each sample (if the number of lines = the number of samples, plus a header line), which should instead be added to your sample metadata file to be used for demultiplexing (figuring out which sequences belong to each sample). Check out the sample metadata section of this tutorial (and the rest of that tutorial) to familiarize yourself with the sample metadata format and how it is used — and see if that is what your "barcode file" looks like.

So then (if I'm correct) it sounds like you really don't have a barcode file — and I will need a little more information from you to figure out where your barcodes are and how to import them.

1. What protocol are you using for sequencing?
  2. Are your barcodes contained in the sequence reads themselves (e.g., the first few bases in each read?) or in the fastq header line? (some old Illumina formats did this) If you are not sure, you may want to talk to your sequencing center or others in your lab who have worked with this protocol previously.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hello Nicholas, thank you very much for your response. I appreciate it very much.
I have the metadata file, so that means I do not have the barcode/index file. I have the paired end raw sequences from illumina miseq in fastq format, the barcodes are in the header lines that looked like this:

@D00420:153:HMG5HBCXY:2:1101:1970:2201 1:N:0:TGACAA