High level of Kingdom only for Taxonomy

Hello back again with another Q.

I've been attempting to generate taxonomy for my samples, however, I am receiving a fairly high level of kingdom only for certain samples. I am studying two GIT sites, one is coming back with good taxonomic classification while the other site is coming up with a high levels of Kingdom_Bacteria only ~367 features out of 1978(only 11 features were unassigned). There is a pretty clear split between the GIT sites on what is classified, and the kingdom only is up to 96% of some of my samples...

Initially I used a classifier I trained on gg_13_8, 97% with 515f/806r, then I attempted to use SILVA and got similar results to the first. I even tried with the pre-trained gg classifier.

I attempted to use classify-consensus blast and vsearch with the default settings however they just replaced the bacteria level to unassigned. I feel if I was using the wrong reference sequences/classifier the bacteria level would not be so site specific. The sequence lengths are the same for these features and the others being classified.

I have been blasting these and majority are coming up as uncultured bacterium or uncultured organisms when I exclude uncultured bacterium... and weirdly a few are coming up as fungi...

Any suggestions on how I might be approaching this wrong/how this could be fixed? I can't imagine my samples would have that many unknown bacteria....

Thanks in advance,
Gill

Hi @GillSie,
I went through a similar issue some time ago and turns out it was a case of non-target amplicons which I am convinced is a lot more common than people expect in intestinal tissues (compared to say fecal samples). If your situation is the same, and there is reason to think it is, I gather that link can provide some guidance, in short, get rid of those reads…you can use a positive filter similar to what deblur uses by default.