Help with QIIME2 quality scores and workflow

Hello everyone. Newbie here!
I hope I am in the right category and apologize in advance if I got it wrong.
I have some very basic questions that I cannot seem to clarify from researching on my own:

1. Quality scores: I see that this matter is very subjective and must be assessed by each researcher, but I wonder if anyone would recommend a tutorial or some kind of content from which I can learn how to make decisions about it.

2. Feature tables and metadata files: I cannot figure out a) how to make those, b) how necessary they are to the analyses, c) in what point of the workflow they should be used and d) what roles they play.

I have recently graduated in biological sciences and I was hired to learn to conduct 16s analyses on my own. I have no experience doing any of that, so I apologize for the basic questions. I would appreciate it a lot if anyone could land me a hand on those matters.

Hi @microbiotaphyto,

Welcome to microbiome analysis! These are good questions! If you haven't gone through already, you might find our tutorials or the online workshops useful.

It's not a tidy answer, but I would go through the forum, read posts,and see how people are making chocies. There are a lot of quality score plots here, and a lot of conversations around the plots. Honestly, this is a big piece of how I've been getting a feel for them.

But, let's talk about the real reason I'm here. (The other mods are rolling their eyes, and I've just poured myself a new cup of tea :tea:).

Some of this is terminology...

Metadata (sometimes also called sample information, patient data, survey data, etc) is non-omics about your microbiome sample.

The feature table tells you which things are in a specific sample, and how many they are. (We use "feature" because we might represent the data as an ASV, an OTU, a genus, a gene, etc).

Let's talk about the feature table first!

1. How do you make it?