Generating a mapping file containing metagenomic data

Hello,

I am a student who is trying to get my metagenomic sequences analyzed. I want to know how a can automatically generate a mapping file because I have about 80,000 sequences. My fasta file looks something like the following but with sequences that go on for 111 pages

ZBOGC:00037:00047

GGACTACAGGGGTATCTAATGTATTACCGCGGCTGCTGGCAC

ZBOGC:00042:00030

GGACTACGCGGGTATCTATGTATTACCGCGGCTGCTGGCAC

Please help me analyse these sequences

Hi @Brigitta1,

welcome in the forum!

Usually you are working with same sample, which once it is sequenced, it provided you with a variable number of sequences (depending on the sequencing platform you could obtain fastq files or fasta files or both).

In general, the metadata are information associated to any single sample (e.g. treatment group, reagent kit, or age, diet, and so on). These will be useful for groups comparisons later on!

So, first of all, are the samples obtained by amplifying a specific 16S region, or any other marker gene (if so, which gene and region)? What sequencing platform did you use?
I strongly suggest you to look at the qiime2 tutorial as starting point (“Moving Pictures” tutorial — QIIME 2 2022.2.0 documentation), may be not your specific case but you can familiarize with generic concept that you will apply later in your analisys!

Best wishes,
Luca

1 Like

Thank you for the quick response Luca.

My samples were obtained by amplifying the V4 domain of bacterial 16S rDNA. The platform used was ion torrent. I am using QIIME 1 software and I am still new to all of this. I got the sequences in BAM format and I converted them to FASTA and FASTQ formats. I need to output an OTU table so I am following the scripts given in qiime.org.
I need to generate a qual file so I decided to run the following code given on qiime.org
convert_fastaqual_fastq.py -c fastq_to_fastaqual -f seqs.fastq -o fastaqual
The code doesn't work even after installing miniconda.