Extract reference reads and different sets of primers

Dear all,
I am new to qiime world and I am trying to train my taxonomic classifier for different data sets with different primers and different amplifying regions. In the Extract reference reads, primer sequence information and different parameters related to length are needed. So, how to proceed further??

Hi @kundan.bi , welcome to the forum!

It’s not clear exactly what you’re asking. Have you looked over the feature classifier training tutorial? There’s a section on how to extract reference reads, and lots of other useful information.

If you still need help once you’ve gone through that, please try to make your question as clear and specific as possible, and we’ll do our best to help.

Good luck!
Chris

3 Likes

hello @ChrisKeefe , thank you for the reply.
my question is regarding this step

qiime feature-classifier extract-reads
–i-sequences 85_otus.qza
–p-f-primer GTGCCAGCMGCCGCGGTAA
–p-r-primer GGACTACHVGGGTWTCTAAT
–p-trunc-len 120
–p-min-length 100
–p-max-length 400
–o-reads ref-seqs.qza

I am using greengene database and its taxonomy information to classify my sequencing data. So my input for the above step is --i-sequences greengenes.qza.

My questions is what should be --p-f-primer, --p-r-primer, p-trunc-len, --p-min-length, --p-max-length.

My sequencing data has been generated by using different primers.

thank you again for the reply.
kundan

Hi @kundan.bi ,
I do not think that @ChrisKeefe or anyone can answer these questions for you because we do not have the necessary information:

This is essential to know the expected length distributions of any given amplicon, and that information can be retrieved in a number of ways, e.g., from the literature.

As @ChrisKeefe already mentioned, those parameter settings and how to choose them are described in the tutorials and help documentation for the plugin methods, so please see those tutorials for general information.