Error prompt: all values the 'grouping' are the same

Hello everyone. I am a qiime2 beginner. When I was processing a batch of data, the front run was very smooth. However, there are always errors when running to the final diversity abundance analysis.

The command I entered is like this:

time qiime feature-table filter-samples
–i-table table.qza --m-metadata-file metadata.txt "
–p-where “[salt]=‘low’”
–o-filtered-table low- table.qza

time qiime composition add-pseudocount
–i-table low- table.qza "
–o-composition-table comp-low- table.qza

time qiime composition ancom
–i-table comp-low- table.qza "
–m-metadata-file metadata.txt "
–m-metadata-column salt
–o-visualization ancom- salt.qzv

The. qza file of the first two commands can be output successfully, but when the third command is run, there will always be an error:

All values the grouping are the same. This method cannot operate on a grouping vector with only a single group of samples(e.g., there are no ‘between’ variance because there is only a single group).

I don’t know where the problem is. I have revised it several times and the same situation has appeared. I hope you can help me. Thank you very much.

1 Like

Hey there @LiyingXie!

:heart:

ANCOM needs more than one "group" of things in order to compare the effects of the group compositions. For example, check out the Moving Pictures tutorial:

https://docs.qiime2.org/2020.8/tutorials/moving-pictures/#differential-abundance-testing-with-ancom

In that section, we compare samples from the gut, for two different subjects.