Error importing Data: Moving pictures tutorial

Hello,

I am new to Qiime and over the past 2 days, I have searched and tried everything possible to import the files to Qiime. I continue to get this error (please see below). Can someone please tell me how to resolve the issue.

qiime@qiime-190-virtual-box:~/qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial$ ls
emp-single-end-sequences sample-metadata.tsv
qiime@qiime-190-virtual-box:~/qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial$ qiime tools import \

--type EMPSingleEndSequences
--input-path emp-single-end-sequences
--output-path emp-single-end-sequences.qza
/usr/bin/qiime: 47: exec: /usr/lib/qiime/bin/tools.py: not found
qiime@qiime-190-virtual-box:~/qiime2-moving-pictures-tutorial$

1 Like

Hi there @Fabs - looks like you are running QIIME 2 commands in a QIIME 1 environment. QIIME 2 is an entirely different software platform - please check out docs.qiime2.org for more info on how to install and get started. Thanks! :qiime2:

2 Likes

WOW! How I didn't notice >5x's that I was downloading the wrong QIIME file, I do not know, but thank you for pointing this out.

Can I ask you one last question: I tried to run the code for creating a QIIME artifact, and although I downloaded the files to my desktop and saved them as the tutorial states (please see picture below) when I run the code, I get the following error.

There was a problem importing emp-single-end-sequences:
_Missing one or more files for EMPSingleEndDirFmt: 'sequences.fastq.gz'

I saw a previous thread that said that the "emp-single-end-sequence" file needs to contain the 2 files (barcodes and sequences), which they do, on my desktop, not on the directory I created. Would you mind telling me how I can do this?

P.S I know I can use the "wget" code and this actually works, but my data will be on my desktop, so I want to make sure I know how to properly do this for my own work.

Desktop file

Virtual Directory file

Sorry, I sent you the picture of the wrong folder, please see attached.