Difficulty to interpret output Alpha diversity

Hey guys,

I am new to qiime2 and I need help to understand my alpha diversity output, and also I am having errors while trying to calculate beta diversity...

I am using qiime 2020.8 through conda.

These are my multiqc results from fastqc:

Forward:

Reverse:

I used dada2 and these parameters to cut:
--p-trim-left-f 12
--p-trim-left-r 13
--p-trunc-len-f 230
--p-trunc-len-r 220 \

The p-sampling-depth used was 0, given the table.qzv:

Beginning of the table

End of the table

The evenness group had these messages:

And only the column loaddate was kept...

The same happened to faith-pd:

Even when I tried to adjust the metadata and validate it the same messages appeared. I don't know how to fix it so the other columns would also appear...

Why there are multiple samples with just a dash instead of a boxplot? Because there aren't enough samples to be analyzed?

The weighted unifrac:
Being red the sick patients and blue the controls:

The unweighted unifrac:

The bray-curtis:

Hi @Liviacmg,

I think the core issue around you error messages is your group sizes. Essentially, the alpha group significance function is warning you that you are asking it to do something statistically impossible.

There are 2 absolute limitations you're grappling with here:

1. The kruskal wallis test used in this visualization cannot perform when there is only one group in the data. There are some variants that allow it, but this is not one for them.
  2. The kruskal wallis test cannot be performed when there are one sample or fewer per group. That's why you can't test continous varibales.

There's a related limitation, which is that the KW test doesn't really work with fewer than 5 samples per group, because that's just the way the test functions.

So, to answer your questions