Demultiplexing with 4 Fastq files R1 , R2, I1, I2and how toconstruct mapping file with dual barcodes

Hi,

I have 4 fastq files (Read1, Read2, Index1, Index2). I am new to QIIME and I would like to know how to import data and construct the mapping file with dual barcode and proceed to demultiplexing in QIIME2.

Thank you for the help in advance.
Rama

Hi @ramasravani - unfortunately we don’t have built-in support for demultiplexing dual-index reads. You will need to demux outside of QIIME 2, then import the demuxed reads.

Hi,

Thank you for your response. With certain posts on the forum, [Importing and Demultiplex process for 4 Fastq Files: R1, R2, Index1 and Index2]) I understood it is possible with the previous version QIIME1. But I am stuck at the construction of mapping file step with dual barcodes.Could you please let me know how to construct the mapping file with both barcode sequences.
Also, may I know the best pipeline to demux these files other than qiime.

Thanking you,
Rama.

We aren’t able to provide support for QIIME 1 here, you could try the QIIME 1 forum, but that isn’t officially staffed anymore. I think there might be a few posts floating around here on the forum with some hints.

Hi,

I have demultiplexed the files with dual reads outside qiime. I would like to know how to import them to qiime for performing next steps like OTU picking.
There are few fasta files generated for each sample along with trim.contigs.quality file.

Thanking you for the help,
Sincerely,
Sravani.

Hi @ramasravani,

Qiime2 doesn’t currently have a way of importing fasta + qual files since this is a bit of an older method, often seen with 454. If you can re-demultiplex your data without separating the quality scores then your life would be very simple in qiime2. For example, if you had 1 forward and 1 reverse fastq file for each sample then you can simply import those using the manifest import method.