Demultiplexing Single-end assigns most reads to 1 sample

Hi all, I'm new to Qiime2 and bioinformatics in general.

I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this issue! About 75% of total reads are assigned to one sample after de-multiplexing. I haven't found a post with my exact issue - but maybe I'm using the wrong keywords. I made an earlier post where I originally thought the problem was DADA2, and thought I should make a new post.

I'm using qiime2-2023.5 in conda. The data is 300bp single-end multiplexed Illumina Miseq data, custom barcodes included, forward reads only. The data does not include primers or adapters. I get the same issue with an ITS library and a custom amplicon library. I know there isn't an issue with the run data itself, since this issue didn't arise when we used UPARSE on the same data.

Troubleshooting so far:

1. Barcodes: I've checked that the barcodes in my mapping file match the barcodes in the original fastq file. (used grep to search the headers in the fastq with ':barcode-sequence'. Each one got thousands of hits, so the mapping file is correct).

demultiplexed-seqs (3).qzv (303.5 KB)

I'm not sure this info. also helps understand what happened - but the DADA2 de-noising step filters almost all of my sample reads, except for the one sample with ~10 million reads (~60% pass filter). For most of the 96 samples, less than 1% of reads are passing the filter.

Many thanks in advance for any ideas on how to troubleshoot further!

Hello @ahale004,

I know there isn't an issue with the run data itself, since this issue didn't arise when we used UPARSE on the same data.

The reads were more evenly spread across samples? Can you show a screenshot or something similar?

1. Barcodes: I've checked that the barcodes in my mapping file match the barcodes in the original fastq file. (used grep to search the headers in the fastq with ':barcode-sequence'. Each one got thousands of hits, so the mapping file is correct).