Demultiplexed-seqs.qza is invalid

Hi everyone, I'm new to QIIME2- and bioinformatics in general- so I've been following this protocol and these instructions for demultiplexing. We're trying to look at paired-end sequences from Illumina. After importing the data and demultiplexing, the output of qiime tools validate showed that the resulting demultiplexed-sequences file has empty sequences. I'm not sure where or how sequences got deleted, or how big of an underlying problem it is.
Here's the error message:

Result demultiplexed-seqs.qza does not appear to be valid at level=max:

/tmp/qiime2-archive-eqvu81tf/b28f664d-8b9e-4767-aa3f-45a6579f691c/data/PB_375_ATATCG_L001_R1_001.fastq.gz is not a(n) FastqGzFormat file:

Missing sequence for record beginning on line 49

Here's the exact commands I ran:
Starting with the raw files from the sequencing center (the only thing I did to them was rename to forward and reverse). And the metadata file is attached. 4246A_Metadata.txt (386 Bytes)

source activate qiime2-2018.11

qiime tools import --type
MultiplexedPairedEndBarcodeInSequence --input-path /bioinf/home/acastill/Bioinf_16S_Oct2019/import_4246A --output-path /bioinf/home/acastill/Bioinf_16S_Oct2019/Edits_4246A_Feb2020/multiplexed-seqs.qza

And multiplexed-seqs.qza is a valid file. Then demultiplexing:

qiime cutadapt demux-paired --i-seqs /bioinf/home/acastill/Bioinf_16S_Oct2019/Edits_4246A_Feb2020/multiplexed-seqs.qza --m-forward-barcodes-file /bioinf/home/acastill/Bioinf_16S_Oct2019/Edits_4246A_Feb2020/metadata_4246A.tsv --m-forward-barcodes-column Barcode --p-error-rate 0 --o-per-sample-sequences /bioinf/home/acastill/Bioinf_16S_Oct2019/Edits_4246A_Feb2020/demultiplexed-seqs.qza --o-untrimmed-sequences /bioinf/home/acastill/Bioinf_16S_Oct2019/Edits_4246A_Feb2020/untrimmed.qza