Demultiplex pair end sequence import problem

Dear All,

I am new to QIIME2, I have read and practise most of the QIIME2 tutorials and tried my best to solve my problem.

I got the demultiplex data with barcode and primer trimmed, the data was from Hiseq PE 250, but I failed to import them into QIIME2. I am not sure about the the meaning of the format, like in my mac:

qiime tools import --show-importable-formats

I check for the importable format but some formats are not mentioned in the tutorial, that's why I am not sure about how I can import my data. May I know anywhere I can check for the detail of the formats?

My data has R1 file and R2 file for one sample, the forward sequence looks like:

@HISEQ:788:HCGH3BCX2:2:1101:3850:2219 1:N:0:AACAACCA
TGGGGAATATTGCACAATGGGCGAAAGCCTGATGCAGCAACGCCGCGTGAGCGATGAAGGCCTTCGGGTCGTAAAGCTCTGTCCTCAAGGAAGATAATGACGGTACTTGAGGAGGAAGCCCCGGCTAACTACGTGCCAGCAGCCGCGGTAATACGTAGGGGGCTAGCGTTATCCGGATTTACTGGGCGTAAAGGGTGCGTAGGTGGTTTTTCAAGTCAGGAGTGAAA
+
HIIIHHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIGIHHHIIIIIIIHIIHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIHIIIIHIIIHFHIIGHHHIIHHIIFFEHIIGIIIIIIIIIGHHIHGIIHIDGHFHIIIHHIIHHIIIIIIIIIIIIGIIIHIIIIIIIHIIDHIIHDEECEE.BHHHHGDH?FGH=E-GEHHHF@GEC?-@@CEH>DHFHGI-@EH45CH---5-4@-@C@@-6-@F#######
@HISEQ:788:HCGH3BCX2:2:1101:5174:2079 1:N:0:AACAACCA
TGGGGAATATTGCACAATGGGGGAAACCCTGATGCAGCCATGCCGCGTGTGTGAAGAAGGCCTTCGGGTTGTAAAGCACTTTCAGTTGTGAGGAAGGCAGTGTCGTTAATAGCGGCATTGTTTGACGTTAGCAACAGAAGAAGCACCGGCTAACTCCGTGCCAGCAGCCGCGGTAATACGGAGGGTGCGAGCGTTAATCGGAATTACTGGGCGTAAAGCGCATGCAG

I tried the most possible format and follow the instruction in the tutorial in my mac:

qiime tools import
--type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]'
--input-path test
--source-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt
--output-path demux-paired-end.qza

but the error is:

There was a problem importing test:
Missing one or more files for CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt: '.+_.+_L[0-9][0-9][0-9]_R[12]_001\.fastq\.gz'

Any help and suggestion is grateful!

Hi @Lennon_Lee,