Demulitplexing issue

Hello Qiimers,

I am a newbie here using qiime2-2019-7 version and I encounter my first problem.
I got 3 files R1(2,757,001,216), R2(1,128,349,696 kb), and I1(1,082,059,488 kb) fastq file I gzip my file and imported to qiime but when I am demultiplexing it with these codes.

qiime demux emp-paired
–m-barcodes-file sample-metadata.tsv
–m-barcodes-column barcode-sequence
–p-rev-comp-mapping-barcodes
–i-seqs emp-paired-end-sequences.qza
–o-per-sample-sequences demux.qza
–o-error-correction-details demux-details.qza

In demux. qza file all I am getting is very low sequences like 20 or 10. I wonder if there is something Iam doing wrong in these code or do I need to change something. I would really appreciate your suggestion.

Please help.

Try the --p-rev-comp-barcodes parameter unless if you know your barcodes are in the correct orientation (you can do a quick search of the raw file to be sure). See if that increases your yield — it is a common cause of this type of issue.

Good luck!

Thanks will do that and update.

Hi Nicolas,
After using this code
qiime demux emp-paired \

--m-barcodes-file sample-metadata.tsv
--m-barcodes-column barcode-sequence
--p-rev-comp-barcodes
--i-seqs emp-paired-end-sequences.qza
--o-per-sample-sequences demux.qza
--o-error-correction-details demux-details.qza

all I am getting is just one sample.
see screenshot.

mapping%20file

Mapping file

look for your barcodes in the raw data. You might just have lots of sequences that do not match your barcodes (e.g., if your data were multiplexed with other peoples’ samples)