Deblur Plugin Set-up

Hello QIIME community!

I am new here and interested in running the deblur plugin on my Illumina sequencing data. However, I am a little confused with the set-up...so far I've created an environment with python 3.8 and numpy, but I am unsure about how to install the deblur plugin and how to proceed from there. I am new to programming and am feeling slightly lost in the support documentation. If anyone has some straightforward advice, I'd really appreciate it!
Apologies for my ignorance!

Hi @Taylorr,

Welcome to the :qiime2: forum!

The q2-deblur plugin (and deblur itself) get installed as part of the base qiime2 enviroment. So, you'll want to follow the normal qiime2 installation instructions (as appropriate for your system). If you have a mac or linux machine, my recommendation would be a native installation. If you want a virtual box, you might want to wait a few weeks since the new virtual boxes will be out soon.

Once you have the enviroment installed (and activated!), try typing

qiime

Into the command line. You should see the deblur plugin show up without having to do any additional installation.

I am going to refer you to a couple of tutorial sections here.

If you've got single end reads, you want to follow the steps outlined in the moving pictures tutorial section on deblur.

If you have paired reads, you want to follow the alternative methods of read joining tutorial.

I'd recommend trying the tutorials with their data before running your own (less exciting, but a good way to make sure the enviroment is working).

Best,
Justine

2 Likes

Hello @jwdebelius,

Thank you so much for your warm welcome and this information!
I will try out the resources you've suggested and see how it goes from there!

Take care!
Taylor

1 Like

Hi @Taylorr,

That sounds great! Please let us know if you have questions you can't solve.

Best,
Justine

1 Like

Hello, again!