Dada2 parameters problem

Good morning,
I am new to qiime2 and I've been reading some of the forums that have been previously posted to familiarize myself with the language.

I managed to import my data with CassavaOneEight and now I am working on the denoise with dada2. I was handed paired-end-demultiplexed data containing barcodes and primers.

My target region is V3-V4 of the 16S gene with primers 314F (CCTAYGGGRBGCASCAG) and 806R (GGACTACNNGGGTATCTAAT).
I attach my quality plot of my sequences.

I've been having trouble with the trim / trunc parameters for denoising. Reviewing forums, the parameters that I decided to place were the following: --p-trunc-len-f 250 --p-trunc-len-r 230. However, when Dada2 finished running, it keeps deleting a good percentage of my sequences. I started with 342197 sequences and Dada2 gave me 24,858.

I would appreciate any of your help. Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

I leave you the script that I am using to import them and until the dada2
Import data:
qiime tools import --type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]' --input-path secuencias --input-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt --output-path demux-paired-end-mary.qza

qiime demux summarize --i-data demux-paired-end-mary.qza --o-visualization demux-paired-end-mary.qzv

DADA2:
qiime dada2 denoise-paired --i-demultiplexed-seqs demux-paired-end-mary.qza --p-trunc-len-f 250 --p-trunc-len-r 230 --p-trim-left-f 0 --p-trim-left-r 0 --p-n-threads 1 --o-table table-dada2-mary.qza --o-representative-sequences rep-seq-dada2--mary.qza --o-denoising-stats stats-dada2-mary.qza

1 Like

Hello @maryver,

Welcome to the forums! :qiime2:

This one is a bit of a mystery because many factors could cause dada2 to remove so many reads. We will have to investigate... :female_detective: :mag_right: