DADA2 is running since 618 hours, Is this common while working with dada2?

Hello,
I'm new to qiime and I got stuck with this for a long time.
This is the command which I have used for running dada2:
qiime dada2 denoise-paired
--i-demultiplexed-seqs demux.qza
--p-trim-left-f 1
--p-trim-left-r 1
--p-trunc-len-f 100
--p-trunc-len-r 100
--p-n-threads 40
--o-table table.qza
--o-representative-sequences rep-seqs.qza
--o-denoising-stats denoising-stats.qza
These are the forward and reverse reads:

Help me out with this.

Thank you.

Hi @Sai_Ravi_Chandra,

Dada 2 tends to run long, but looking at your command, it seems like it’s running very long, but Ive also seen a week on multiple sequencing runs. I find Deblur tends to be much faster, if that’s a concern.

I am concerned that even after it’s done running you’re going to have a fair number of failures to pair your samples. your revesre reads start to be low quality around bp 70, which will likely cause failure, and your forward reads seem to drop off around 90. So, watch for that. If it fails, Id recommend using the forward reads. That will also cut down on processing time, regardless of the algorithm you choose.

Best,
Justine

1 Like

Hi @jwdebelius
Thanks for the reply.

As per your suggestion, I will try running using only forward reads and will get back to you.
One more thing I tried running deblur and it’s still running for 20 hours. I don’t know where I am going wrong.

Here are the things what I did from the beginning:
I have downloaded the files from sra(Sequence read archive).
Using fastq-dump --split-3 ERRxxx.sra I got 2 fastq files and each file has 33466587 reads.
I imported these fastq files using PairedEndFastqManifestPhred33.
Then I ran dada2 and deblur and still waiting for the output.
This is how my fastq data looks like:
@ERR476713.1 HWI-ST1018:8:1101:1326:2207 length=101
NGAATCATACACTACTTGAATTCTCAGGCCCGTAGCGTCCCTCGGTGCGCGGAGGGCCGCCCCTCTGCTGCCTTGTGGGGAAGACTCACGGGGAGGGGCCC