Create barcode file

Hi, I am new in qiime2 and I do not find how to create the barcode.fastq.gz file. I have a mapping file (which conteins a column with the barcodes and 2 fastq.gz files whit the sequences. Can ou help me? Thanks

Hi @cecibe,
Where your barcodes are is all going to depend on how you constructed your sequencing library. Your 2 fastqs are probably the forward/reverse reads, and the barcodes may be in-line in the sequences or in the header lines — it is impossible to know without getting that information from the source (or you could check the first N nucleotides on each sequence to see if these match the barcodes in your sample metadata file). Check with the sequencing center, lab, or whoever did the library prep/sequencing, that’s the surest way to know.

Once you figure out where the barcodes are, I can point you in the direction of the correct method for importing/demultiplexing.

Good luck!

Hi Nicholas, thaks for your help. I checked the first lines of my sequences and I found that the barcodes are in the sequences (the first 8 nucleotides) Can you give point me the correct method for doing the barcodes.fastq. gz file I need? thanks a lot!

Hi @cecibe,

Excellent! There is no need to create a barcodes.fastq file. This tutorial covers the data type that you describe. See the note at the bottom of the tutorial for how to use paired-end data (as you have), since the steps provided are actually for single-end reads.

I hope that helps!

Hi Nicholas, thanks a lot for your help. I did what you told me before and I have now other error messages:
Plugin error from cutadapt:

/tmp/qiime2-archive-vy23qd4b/4f213eec-1cd8-4539-be27-4de892120423/data/reverse.fastq.gz is not a file.

Debug info has been saved to /tmp/qiime2-q2cli-err-ea0vocis.log

Can you help me again?

Cecilia

Hi @cecibe,