Can prejoined sequences be used for Dada2 pipeline

Hi,
I am a beginner for Qiime2 and after reading the tutorials I started analyzing my data. I got OTU table after applying Dada2 pipeline and I noticed that merging for most of the samples have failed . As a result I lost most of the samples from otu table. Could you please provide your expert opinion on improving the parameters for getting all samples.
I used following commnads
qiime dada2 denoise-paired --i-demultiplexed-seqs demux.qza --p-trim-left-f 25 --p-trim-left-r 20 --p-trunc-len-f 300 --p-trunc-len-r 300 --p-max-ee-f 2 --p-max-ee-r 2 --p-trunc-q 2 --p-chimera-method consensus --p-min-fold-parent-over-abundance 1 --p-n-threads 1 --p-n-reads-learn 1000000 --p-hashed-feature-ids True --o-table table.qza --o-representative-sequences rep-seqs.qza --o-denoising-stats denoising-stats.qza

Another point is that I also have demultiplexed and mergepair reads for each sample as provided by the sequencing company. Can I use these prejoined and demultiplexed fastq files for Dada2 pipeline. If yes, then

1. what parameters I shall consider in Dada2 pipeline so as to avoid merging?
  2. For importing fastq manifest files of these in qiime 2 shall I use “input-format SingleEndFastqManifestPhred33”?
    Thanks for your help.
1 Like

Hi!
I used premerged paired reads in Qiime2 once and imported them as single reads

Hi, many thanks for your reply. Did you use Dada 2 pipeline after importing? If yes, could you please tell me the detail. Thanks and regards

You cannot use DADA2 on premerged or pre-quality filtered reads. If you wish to do merging or quality filtering before hand, Deblur is a good denoising option.

It is also possible and valid to simply use the single end reads without jointing (you retain only the forward reads) in cases where reads aren’t long enough to merge or the reverse reads are too low quality.

Best,
Justine

2 Likes

For importing the merge pair end reads I used following command: