Can I do this filtering in one step

Hello, I have a master feature table with related taxonomy table (taxa.qza), and representative sequences file.

I would like to remove the ASV appearing less than 10 time and I know this can be easily done using qiime feature-table filter-features script. However, I would like to know:

1>Is there any way, I can do this in one step (one script setting) to get three different files filtered feature table, filtered taxa file and filtered representative reads. Well, now I have to do three times of filtering.

2>If can’t do it in one step, I am wondering if my workflow order is wrong. I assign the taxonomy before the filtering, which means I have a master feature table with related master taxa table.

Should I finish all filtering the master feature table first, before I assign the taxonomy? So, I wouldn’t do the taxonomy filtering.

3>Just wanna know how you guys do this? I always filter the representative sequences file whenever I do the filtering. Do you normally do this? Or the representative sequences file is not very useful for downstream analysis. For now, I only can think about the some phylogeny distance analyses (e.g. unifrac, tree building) that would use the sequences. I am not sure if I have to filtering. If I use tree built from master representative sequencing table + filtered feature able would give you errors or not?

Thanks

Hi @sdpapet,

I start from the bottom if you don’t mind!
3) I usually don’t filter the rep seqs. The usual analysis I do are fine as long as all the ASVs are represented in the taxonomy file/tree (as most of diversity plug ins in qiime). If there are more representative sequences/taxonomy should not be a problem most of the cases, at least in my experiences. If any ASVs are missing from the taxonomy table/phylogenetic tree, that will cause error!
But again, I suppose it depends on the type of analysis and what tool/plug ins you are using.