Can I construct an OTU table using Qiime 2

Hello,
My name is Brigitta. I want to know whether it is possible to construct an OTU table using Qiime2. If, it is possible is there some tutorial that i can follow to get my work done as i am new to qiime 2. Something like the scripts page in Qiime1 will be very helpful. Also, i came across something called artifacts in qiime 2. How do i convert my fastq files to artifacts? Thank you in advance.
Best Regards,
Brigitta

Yes, we have all of these!

Tutorials Tutorials — QIIME 2 2022.2.0 documentation
Qiime1 used scripts, and Qiime2 uses plugins Available plugins — QIIME 2 2022.2.0 documentation

Each tutorial has a section on importing. All the ways to import data are listed here: Importing data — QIIME 2 2022.2.0 documentation

Here's a full overview of how Qiime2 works, including how and why we use Artifacts for everything in the new platform. Overview of QIIME 2 Plugin Workflows — QIIME 2 2022.2.0 documentation

And of course, let us know if you have any questions! :qiime2:

3 Likes

Thank you so much Colin!

Hi @Brigitta1,
a thread discussing how to import IonTorrent data which may be helpful to you is the following:

Luca

1 Like

Thank you so much Luca!

Hello Colin,
I read through the document Importing data — QIIME 2 2022.2.0 documentation several times. I want to get my data imported in the Casava 1.8 single-end demultiplexed fastq format.

Should my command be
qiime tools import
--type 'SampleData[SequencesWithQuality]'
--input-path casava-18-single-end-demultiplexed
--input-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt
--output-path demux-single-end.qza
Should the "--input path" be followed by the path to my .fastq.gz file?

Hi @Brigitta1,

can you clarify what type of data you are trying to import? Is the Ion Torrent data you mentioned in the other thread, a dataset form the tutorial, or some other Illumina sequences?