Bioinformatics Beginner Needs help

Hello,

I am just starting to learn bioinformatics and I will be using QIIME2 2018.2 to process my Miseq data. However, coming from basically no experience, I am very confused and frustrated :frowning: . I have a QIIME1 workflow from previous students in my lab, and I am trying to replicate the steps they did but in QIIME2. I am aware the commands are very different and some commands in QIIME2 combine and separate specific commands from QIIME1. That is where my problem is: I’m not sure if I am doing the right things in the right order. I did the Moving Pictures Tutorial and looked over the Atacama Soil Microbiome tutorial and it helped but I’m still lost.

If anyone can please help me that would be really great.

The QIIME1 workflow goes like this:

• join paired ends with multiple_join_paired_ends.py
    -split libraries with multiple_split_libaries.py with a Qscore threshold of 20
    -identify and remove chimeras with identify_chimeric_seqs.py and filter.fasta.py
    -pick OTUs with pick_open_reference_otus.py
    -set denoise parameters with filter_samples_from otu_table.py

There’s more but that would be a good start for me. Also, my raw reads have already come demultiplexed from BaseSpace.

Anything helps, thank you!

Alan

Hi Alan

I figured I would see if I could help you get started. So enough has changed between QIIME 1 and QIIME2 that it’s probably best to start fresh…completely fresh and work with the QIIME2 tutorials right off the bat - let go of the QIIME1 workflow.

So basically - you have to know what type of data you have:

1. Did you do paired end sequencing? or single end?
  2. Is your data phred64 or phred33 (more likely phred33 if it’s a recent Illumina instrument). You can always check with the sequencing group.
  3. You said your data is demultiplexed and on BaseSpace. So I’m assuming you have what then? Fastq files or fastq.gz files correct? QIIME2 can import both types.