ANCOM giving strange W values

Hi,

I am using the Moving Pictures tutorial as a guidelines for analyzing my microbiome data. When trying to perform the ANCOM analysis at the end, I get strange results for ANCOM.

When I look at the results filtered to level 2, all W values are 0 (none significantly different). I don’t necessarily expect anything to be different (the two groups have not differed in the alpha/beta analysis prior to this) but I don’t think all the W values would be 0.

When I filtered at level 6, I get similarly strange results; only one genus is significant at W=34, and the other 58 genuses are not significant with their W values are 0 or 1.

I am a super beginner in all of this (microbiome analysis, statistics related to, and any sort of computer coding) so I am not sure if this is an error or if the W values I am seeing are “correct”.

Thanks,
Adrian

Hi @adrian, thanks for writing! I am going to ping @mortonjt on this one, he might have some thoughts on the matter. Thanks!

I not exactly sure what is going on - would you like to attach your dataset?

There are many possibilities that could explain this, namely

1. Low resolution from level taxonomy summarization could obscure the signal, particularly if only one species is changing
  2. Low counts / zeros could cause false positives in ANCOM
  3. Issues with FDR in the statistical test
  4. A really bad fluke with the statistical test. Remember, we are just conducting statistical tests, and every statistical test has some chance of failing (even it is small).

Having access to the underlying datasets to generate this result could help narrow down these issues.

Thanks for replying! I attached the relevant .qzv files- is that informative or did you want another form/step of data?

Filtered for only female (results I detailed above):
l6-ancom-Treatment-female.qzv (35.4 KB)
l2-ancom-Treatment-female.qzv (32.1 KB)