454 data: errors right up front! Qiime tools import errors

Hi there,
I'm pretty new to QIIME2, so this is probably something super simple. I'm using v2023.5 and trying to run thru the 454 tutorial, as I have old but import data I need to analyze, however I'm running into an error right off the bat! When running the Tools Import command (below) I get "command not found" and whatnot. I did download the .zip, and added the .qual and .fna into the q1-fastaqual directory. I am working from that directory. I'm not sure what I missed. Any ideas?

qiime tools import
--type MultiplexedSingleEndBarcodeInSequence
--input-format MultiplexedFastaQualDirFmt
--input-path q1-fastaqual
--output-path seqs.qza

Errors received:
There were some problems with the command:
(1/3) Missing option '--type'.
(2/3) Missing option '--input-path'.
(3/3) Missing option '--output-path'.
And all kicked back "command not found"

Hello @jvoelschow,

Did you add a backslash \ to the end of each of those lines except the last one?

1 Like

ooo, no I hadn't. Thank you! That helped get passed those errors, but now I'm getting a " (1/1) Invalid value for '--input-path': Path 'q1-fastaqual' does not exist."

The tutorial didn't include the \ in the command, so I'm wondering if it's skipping steps that are considered standard, and I'm just not experienced enough to know it yet.

Hello @jvoelschow,

Anytime you want to break one command over multiple lines you need to use the backslash character at the end of any line that doesn't finish the command. Otherwise the newline (enter) is taken to mean you want the line you just typed to be run as a command by itself.

The tutorial didn't include the \ in the command, so I'm wondering if it's skipping steps that are considered standard, and I'm just not experienced enough to know it yet.