Which importing method should I use for demultiplexed paired-end reads, and which tutorial to follow.

Hi sir , I am a beginner so i have lots of questions in my mind for raw data analysis, i have some questions I hope you will give the answers to my queries.

1. i have 2 reads for each sample (R1 and R2) and one is forward and one is reverse so its paired-end sequence? am I right?
  2. but sir i don’t have the barcode sequence and primers information of these sequences so for further analysis i choose the paired-end manifest format. but i want to try some other methods for my raw sequence. so my question is should i do denoising with separately for R1 (forward) and R2(reverse) and after that, i will merge these sequences? if your answer is yes how can we do this? i follow the FMT tutorial for my sequence but after the merging and created the final table my six samples (R1+R2) become 12. i just want to know which tutorial i follow for my R1 and R2 sequence analysis?(denoising separately first and after i can merge R1 and R2 file and make one read)
1 Like

Hi @SAMRENDRA01,

Please remember for future that there are many non-male users/moderators!

Yes, you have demultiplexed Paired-End reads.

1. Since your reads are already demultiplexed you don't need barcodes. Those are simply used to map your sequences to a particular sample. You need to simply import your reads as paired-end reads and follow whichever denoising method you want, i.e ada2 or deblur. Using the manifest format import approach here is good, just make sure you use the paired-end method.
    The FMT tutorial you mention deals with importing 2 separate single-end datasets and merging them. This is different than paired-end reads from 1 dataset which you have. Try the Atacama tutorial and just skip to the dada2 denoise-paired step.
1 Like

Please remember for the future that there are many non-male users/moderators!