Weight loss study - using QIIME2 for microbiome analysis

Dear QIIME2 Team,

my name is Tim, I am a physician/researcher at the NIH. I am currently analyzing microbiome data from our weight loss study in QIIME2. I use the newest QIIME2 version, which I natively installed on my MacBook Pro using miniconda. I already completed the moving pictures tutorial. However, I am not sure if QIIME2 can do the analyses I would like to do.

Study design:

• 15 participants underwent 6 weeks of in-patient caloric restriction with a liquid diet
  • Stool samples were taken at Baseline, weekly from Week 1 to 6 during the weight loss period, and at the post-weight loss period (in total 8 time points)
  • Meta data includes weight lost and stool calories

Research question:

• Do certain bacteria/features at baseline predict weight loss?
  • Do changes in bacteria/features during caloric restriction correlate with concomitant changes in stool calories?

Question to you as QIIME2 experts:

• Is there a way to do these analyses in QIIME2? I already found the longitudinal analysis tool but I am not sure if I can also use it for this kind of analysis?

Thanks so much for helping out :slight_smile:
Tim

2 Likes

Hi @TimNIH,
QIIME 2 can do anything if you put a bit of elbow grease in. (take that statement with a pinch of salt: it has yet to achieve enduring world peace or clean my car)

Easy peasy:

1. Filter your feature table to contain only baseline samples.
  2. add a metadata column for those samples, which indicates the degree of weight loss, or even multiple elements of this, e.g., % weight loss at each time point, etc. You may also want to take the log of those values, depending on what the distribution looks like.
  3. Use qiime sample-classifier regress-samples-ncv or regress-samples to predict each weight loss metric of interest, one at a time. See the online tutorials for some examples.