very few sequences, overlap issues & "cannot describe DataFrame without columns error"

Hello, I'm new to QIIIME 2 as well as microbiome bioinformatics. I want to make sure I'm importing a sample properly and figure out why, when I do import, the sample contains few sequences and can't join.

When I extract and examine my fastq.gz files, the read sequence matches the Casava 1.8 Format exactly, but the filenames I was given (possibly renamed to retain anonymity) do not match the proper format for easy importing. I tried renaming them according to their lane number, but then I noticed there were multiple lanes in the sample. It is possibly worth noting that I was given only one sample (2 fastq.gz files: R1 and R2) to work with.

When I import using a manifest, it seems like a lot of sequences are missing and there isn't enough overlap to join pairs.

This is the command I run which completes without issue:

qiime tools import
--type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]'
--input-path pe-33-manifest.tsv
--output-path paired-end-demux.qza
--input-format PairedEndFastqManifestPhred33V2

This is the manifest file: pe-33-manifest.tsv (131 Bytes)

And here is the .qza and .qzv:
paired-end-demux.qza (2.9 MB)
demux.qzv (269.1 KB)

I then run:
qiime vsearch join-pairs
--i-demultiplexed-seqs paired-end-demux.qza
--o-joined-sequences demux-joined.qza

demux-joined.qza (10.6 KB)

and then:
qiime demux summarize
--i-data demux-joined.qza
--o-visualization demux-joined.qzv
--verbose

which outputs the following:

Plugin error from demux:

Cannot describe a DataFrame without columns

Debug info has been saved to /var/folders/5l/48xfw0c53419vl06526g32kr0000gs/T/qiime2-q2cli-err-9oa7xejf.log
(qiime2-2019.10) ~/Desktop/fastq $ qiime demux summarize --i-data demux-joined.qza --o-visualization demux-joined.qzv --verbose
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/miniconda3/envs/qiime2-2019.10/lib/python3.6/site-packages/q2cli/commands.py", line 328, in call