Trouble create a classifier table

Hey guys,

I am trying to create a classifier using sequences from BOLD to find the types of insects in my sample. I was able to download all the sequences from BOLD, but some contain dashes “-”. I think this isn’t letting me create the classifier, what should I do to move forward? just delete those specific sequences or is there a work around?

I am fairly new to quite so I am sorry if this is a dumb question

Thank you

1 Like

Good morning Whitney,

This is not a dumb question at all!

Like this?

>heading1
ACTG--CTTG
>heading2
AATG-CCTTG

I'm not super familiar with BOLD, but dashes like this could appear if the sequences have been aligned to each other, which is pretty common for databases.

If the BOLD database has undergone Multiple Sequence Alignment, you could cut out the region you have amplified first, then remove the - dashes - from your reads, at which point they should be compatible with the Qiime 2 taxonomy classifiers.

Once we confirm why there are dashes, we can go from there.

Colin

Hey Colin,

I guess I should have included an example. This is what a sequence from BOLD looks like:

>AMIG116-08|Ephemerella dorothea|COI-5P|HQ151895
TTGGGACTTCTTTAAGTCTCCTTATTCGAGCTGAGTTAGGGCAGCCTGGGTCCCTTATTGGAGATGACCAAATCTATAATGTTATCGTAACTGCTCACGCCTTTATTATAATCTTCTTTATGGTAATGCCCATTATAATTGGAGGGTTTGGGAATTGGTTAGTTCCTCTCATGCTTGGAGCCCCTGATATAGCTTTCCCCCGTATAAATAACATAAGCTTTTGGCTTTTACCTCCTGCTCTAACACTCCTATTAGCTAGCAGCATAGTAGAAAGTGGGGCGGGGACAGGTTGAACAGTTTACCCTCCACTAGCTTCTGGGATTGCTCATGCTGGAGGCTCTGTAGACCTTGCCATTTTCTCACTTCATTTAGCGGGGGTTTCTTCTATTCTCGGGGCTGTAAACTTTATTACCACAACCATTAATATACGCGCAAGTGGTATATCAATAGACCGCATTCCACTTTTTGTGTGGTCAGTACTAATTACAGCTATTTTGCTCTTGCTTTCCCTCCCAGTTTTAGCGGGAGCCATCACCATGCTCCTCACTGACCGTAACCTTAATACATCCT-
>BEECD351-09|Hymenoptera|COI-5P