Singletons removed from feature table(QIIME2 output)

I am handling 16S rRNA data from human gut.After following QIIME2 protocol, i have obtained 4500 ASVs.When i removed Singletons from the data, i am left with only 1500 ASVs.

Is there any issue with my data as i have read in your forum that post DADA2 denoising,one should not get large number of singletons.

I am analyzing the data for the first time.
Help and suggestions are appreciated

Welcome to the forum, @Tahseen_Abbas!
This is an interesting question, and I suspect people will have trouble answering it without more information about your data and your process. Can you share your DADA2 denoising stats, and some basic info about your study/sequences?

Best,
Chris :spider_web:

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the immediate attention to my query.

I am studying stool samples obtained from healthy individuals.The V3-V4 sequencing (600 cycles) paired end was done in 2 batches with same library.I have processed both the batches separately till DADA2 and then merged the feature table obtained from both the runs for further taxonomy classification and alpha ,beta diversity calculations.

I removed the illumina Primer sequences using cutadapt.
Primer sequences used are
16S Amplicon PCR Forward Primer = 5'
CCTACGGGNGGCWGCAG
16S Amplicon PCR Reverse Primer = 5'
GACTACHVGGGTATCTAATCC

Denoising (using DADA2) parameters for both runs:-
1st Run (Feb Run) --p-trim-left-f 0 --p-trim-left-r 0 --p-trunc-len-f 284 --p-trunc-len-r 207
2nd Run (June Run) --p-trim-left-f 0 --p-trim-left-r 0 --p-trunc-len-f 272 --p-trunc-len-r 202

feb_metadata_postcutadapt_DADA2denoising.tsv (7.2 KB) June_metadata_postcutadapat_DADA2denoising.tsv (7.0 KB)

After merging the feature tables, i trained the naive bayes classifier using Greengenes 99% OTU database using the following command:-
qiime feature-classifier extract-reads --i-sequences 99_otus.qza --p-f-primer CCTACGGGNGGCWGCAG --p-r-primer GACTACHVGGGTATCTAATCC --o-reads ref-seqs.qza