Rarefaction for Beta Diversity Analysis

Hello,
I am just beginning to learn Qiime2, and I have a question regarding rarefaction.
My understanding is that value chosen for the –p-sampling-depth in the command qiime diversity core-metrics-phylogenetic causes each sample to have that count of sequences.
I do not wish to do that. Is there a way around this rarefaction step in Qiime2?

Absolutely!

Just out of curiosity — are you using a different normalization strategy?

The core-metrics-* actions are just pipelines, i.e., they run a series of actions in a single command. So you are able to replicate the methods used in the pipeline with other actions, giving you more control over the individual parameters.

In your case, you can replicate this pipeline without even sampling. So you can do something like run qiime diversity beta to get a distance matrix without even subsampling (that action does not have a sampling depth parameter and in the pipeline rarefying is done prior to that action), then qiime diversity pcoa to generate PCs, then qiime emperor plot to make an emperor plot. It's more work, but more control.

See the overview tutorial for a flowchart showing what's going on under the hood in this pipeline — that will let you rebuild these steps without rarefying.

I hope that helps!

1 Like

Thank you, Nicholas!
That was extremely helpful!

I have a few follow up questions:

1. Could you explain in more detail at which point I would run qiime diversity beta as well as the other command you listed? I was a little confused when you said the “rarefying is done prior to that action.”
  2. Could you possibly include the parameters required for running qiime diversity beta?

Ellen

See the tutorial I linked to above. You would just run qiime diversity beta on your feature table, then proceed as shown in the flowchart.

type qiime diversity beta --help to see all options, or check out the docs

I hope that helps!

Again, extremely helpful!
I really appreciate it!

Ellen