Questions Regarding Determining Original Read Names and Identifying Reads Clustered into Representative Sequences in QIIME2

Dear QIIME2 community,

I am new to QIIME 2 and currently encountering an issue for which I have extensively searched forums and webpages without finding a satisfactory answer. Consequently, I am reaching out to seek guidance on the following matters:

1. After denoising a ".fastq" file to obtain an Amplicon Sequence Variant (ASV) represented by a "FeatureData[Sequence]" and a corresponding feature table "FeatureTable[Frequency]", I observed that the feature table contains names of rep-seqs and their respective frequencies. However, these sequence names appear to differ from the names of reads in the original ".fastq" file. Is there a method to determine the original names of the reads in the ".fastq" file from which the representative sequences were derived?

2. In an effort to inspect the names (in ".fastq" file) of reads that cluster into each representative sequence, I utilized "qiime tools export." However, in the "FeatureTable[Frequency]" export, only the frequencies of each representative sequence are present, and the individual read names are not included. Additionally, within the "FeatureData[Sequence]" export, only the sequence of the representative sequence are present. Is there a recommended approach to identifying the names of the indivisual reads that are clustered into each representative sequence?

I would greatly appreciate any assistance, information about relevant forum posts, or insights into potential solutions that I may have overlooked.

Thank you in advance to anyone who can provide assistance.

Best regards,
Min-Ho

Hi @Min-Ho ,

No, because the rep seqs are derived from possibly several raw sequences (and then denoised, and possibly merged, so might not be a 100% match).