questions about import of qiime2-mmvec

Hi, @mortonjt !

I am studying q2-mmvec to analyze my data( metabolome and the microbiom). However, I meet some questions about input files.
Firstly, I have gained a table of microbe’s taxonomy via USEARCH, and there is not ‘confidence’ in this table(maybe I have ignored some details).But in sample data of mmvec(cf/taxonomy.txt) has ‘confidence’. Therefore, I wonder if the ‘confidence’ is necessary for mmvec ?
Secondly, my original data about metabolome mainly has sample ID, compounds’ name and different compounds abundances in different samples, and I have poorly understood how to gain metabolite-metadata in sample data of mmvec (‘cf/metabolite-metadata.txt’). In other words, I don’t know what information metabolite-metadata needs and how to let my data of metabolome convert this format, probably I have ignored some steps.
Looking forward to your reply. Thank you!

Hester

1 Like
  1. confidence shouldn’t be necessary as long as it is a qiime2 compatible FeatureData[Sequence] type.
  2. if you don’t have any additional metabolite information, you could just feed in a file with all of the compound names again. Normally, this metabolite information is accommodated with m/z, retention time, in addition to other annotations from classyfire or sirius, or even KEGG.

Hi mortonjt !
Because there is not ‘Compound_Source’ in my metabolite metadata, I have substituted 'Class II' or 'Class I' for 'Compound Source', and my metabolite metadata is shown in the following table.

sampleID Q1 (Da) Q3 (Da) Molecular Weight (Da) Formula Ionization model Compounds Class I Class II CAS Level cpd_ID kegg_map
2268 138.05 94.07 137.048 C7H7NO2 [M+H]+ Trigonelline Alkaloids Alkaloids 535-83-1 B C01004 ko00760

But when I run 'qiime mmvec heatmap' with 'Class I' or 'Class II', my heatmap was a little messy. A part of heatmap is shown in following picture.