QIIME2 activation appears to work, but installation test doesn't work (Windows 10)

Hello!

I am new to Qiime2 and I installed anaconda3 using Ubuntu and I created my environment, etc.

Then using the command lines on the QIIME2 docs for version qiime2-2021.4 (WSL => native conda installation => Windows Subsystem for Linux (64bit)) I created the QIIME2 environment, activated the QIIME2 environment, but when I go to confirm installation with either the “qiime info” or “qiime --help” script, it just says “qiime: command not found.” Everything seemed to work up until this point with no errors, so I am not sure why the installation didn’t work.

Thanks for any assistance!
Alicia

Hi @aliciarlamb!

Are you running the qiime info command inside a WSL shell, with your QIIME 2 conda env activated? That error you shared above implies that the answer might be "no" - please try again and let us know! If you're still stuck, maybe you can send some screenshots, or maybe more detailed description of the steps you took, including the commands you ran leading up to running qiime info.

:qiime2:

Hi @thermokarst,

Thanks for responding - to backtrack on my steps, I used Ubuntu 20.04 and after setting my username and password, updating ("sudo apt-get update”) and upgrading (“sudo apt-get upgrade”), I downloaded the anaconda software package using the command, “curl -O https://repo.anaconda.com/archive/Anaconda3-2020.11-Linux-x86_64.sh” and installed using “bash Anaconda3-2020.11-Linux-x86_64.sh”. Following that, I ran “source ~/.bashrc” and then “conda list” to make sure everything was installed correctly thus far.
I created my new conda environment using “conda create – name my_env python=3”
I activated the conda environment using “conda activate my_env”
To install QIIME2, I used “wget https://data.qiime2.org/distro/core/qiime2-2021.4-py38-linux-conda.yml” to fetch the package from the server.